Skip to Content

Dr. Vedaraman Sriraman

Vedaraman Sriraman, D.E., is the associate vice president for academic affairs and a University Distinguished Professor of Engineering Technology.  He has oversight for the university’s curriculum, continuing education, commencement, distance learning, service learning, education abroad, and international student and scholar services.

Dr. Sriraman earned his bachelor’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from the National Institute of Technology in India, his master’s degree in Mechanical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Technology and his doctorate in Industrial Engineering from Lamar University.  He joined the faculty at Texas State University in 1991 and was promoted to professor in 2002. 

Dr. Sriraman served as the coordinator of Engineering programs, Interim Chair of the Department of Physics, Chair of the Department of Engineering Technology, Assistant Dean of the College of Science and Engineering, and as the Presidential Fellow from 2012 to 2013.  He represented the College of Science and Engineering on the Faculty Senate from 2011 to 2016.  Dr. Sriraman served as the Foundry Educational Foundation Key professor and as faculty advisor to the Society of Women Engineers, the Society of Manufacturing Engineers (SME) and the American Foundry Society.

 Dr. Sriraman was involved in the development of program proposals that resulted in the establishment of the industrial engineering, electrical engineering, and concrete industry management undergraduate degrees.  He served as a program evaluator for the Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology.  His research interests are in engineering education and sustainable engineering.  Dr. Sriraman has published 38 papers in peer reviewed journals and 39 peer reviewed proceedings papers.  In collaborative efforts, he has secured a total of $18.6 million in funding from external funding agencies including the National Science Foundation, NASA, and the SME Education Foundation.

Dr. Sriraman was named as a Piper Professor by the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation in 2015 and University Distinguished Professor in 2013.  His other awards include the Everette Swinney Faculty Senate Excellence in Teaching Award (2015 and 2014), the Texas Association of Schools of Engineering Technology Distinguished Service Award (2004), the Presidential Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000), the National Association of Industrial Technology’s Outstanding Industrial Technology Professor Award (1998) and the Texas State Alumni Association Teaching Award of Honor (1996).